The mandate of the Cambridge Conservation Commission is to look out for the environmental well being of the Town.

In 2020 the Town voted to accept 51 acres of land adjacent to the Cambridge Pines State Forest and create the first Town-owned nature preserve, named in honor of the late Peter Krusch. The CCC continues to spearhead the management of the preserve. For more information about the Peter A. Krusch Nature Preserve click here. Krusch Nature Preserve

The nine members of the CCC work in a number of ways, including interacting with other municipal entities (such as the Planning Commission, Trails committee, and Select Board) and State officials (including those involved with wetlands, Act 250 permits, VT Fish and Wildlife etc.). 

We also organize educational events for community members, provide advice to residents, partner with organizations such as the Vermont Land Trust and the Vermont River Conservancy and organize or contribute to conservation activities including Stormwater Mitigation at Cambridge Elementary School, bird walks, mushroom walks, Ash tree mapping, Green Up Day and Orange Up Day.

Green Up Day is a statewide initiative to keep our roadsides clean and takes place on the first Saturday in May. Volunteers pick up trash using specific Green Up Day bags which the Town collects. Orange Up Day is our own take on Green Up Day that we organize in the fall. Inspired by us, neighboring towns have expressed interest in organizing their own Orange Up Day.

In 2019 the CCC helped with the creation of a Conservation Reserve Fund for projects involving purchase, easement, and management of property for conservation. Money to support our activities comes from town appropriations, grants and donations. 

CCC Meetings 

1st  Wednesday of the month, 7:00 p.m., currently on Zoom (see link on Agenda) and is always open to the public. 


Cambridge Conservation Commission Facebook page

We are looking for one new member in the coming year, so please join us.

Cambridge Conservation Members

Jake Bailey        Justin Marsh            Holly Ferris

Sara Lourie        Chris Preston           Tim Larned

Jayne Lukens     Mary Fiedler